Naming Committee


For the person completing this report.

Sheri Pettit

Email hidden; Javascript is required.


Official Name of the Board

Naming Committee

Effective date of establishment


Authorized by

Regents Policy Manual (RPM)

Scope of Impact


Type of Board



The naming committee is recognized as an advisory board which reviews and makes recommendations regarding proposed namings. The naming committee shall be chaired by the Vice President of University Advancement.


The committee reviews naming proposals and opportunities consistent with policy and forwards recommendations through its char to the university administrative council, for further action by the chancellor and/or board of regents, as appropriate.


What is the process for selecting a chair?

The chair is based on position - VP, University Advancement.

Chair for 2017-18 Academic Year


Andrea Tawney


Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Co-Chair for 2017-18 Academic Year

Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year


Andrea Tawney


Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Co-Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year

Additional Membership Details

Members are appointed by

By Position

Position appointment description

Members are appointed based on position.

Is membership representative?


What university function/office is responsible for appointments?

University Advancement works with the Chancellor's office to notify of future appointments.

What are the terms of appointment?

There are no terms of appointment. Members remain as long as they hold the position.

Are terms staggered?


Are members subject to reappointment?


What is the process for filling vacant positions?

Members remain as long as they hold their position.

Member List
Name Title Member Type
Andrew Burke SVP, Adminstration and Finance Voting Member
Christopher Brown Chair, Faculty Senate Voting Member
Dan Howard Provost Voting Member
Don Pope Davis Dean, College of Education Voting Member
Donna Wagner Dean, College of HSS Voting Member
Elizabeth Titus Dean, Library Voting Member
Enrico Pontell Dean, College of Arts & Sciences Voting Member
Heather Wautenpaugh Chair, Campus Planning Committee Voting Member
Kevin Prieto ASNMSU President Voting Member
Jim Hoffman Dean, College of Business Voting Member
Lakshmi Reddi Dean, College of Engineering Voting Member
Loui Reyes Dean, Graduate Schoool Voting Member
Mario Moccia Athletics Director Voting Member
Miriam Chaiken Dean, Honors College Voting Member
Rolando Flores Dean, College of ACES Voting Member

What university office/function provides administrative support to this board?

Executive Assistant to VP, University Advancement

What are the requirements for the number of meetings to be held annually?

There are no requirements. Meetings are scheduled for the second Tuesday of every month and take place as long as there are naming requests to be presented.

Was the requirement for the number of meetings met?


List of Meeting Dates

July 2017 Meeting - email vote
No August 2017 Meeting
No September 2017 Meeting
November 2017 meeting - email vote
No December 2017 meeting
No January 2018 meeting
No April meeting
6-12-2018 meeting tbd

Major Accomplishments

Room #125 in Hardman Jacobs as the Dino and Heidi Camunez Family Lecture Hall
Branson Library Naming of the Exhibit Gallery as the Humboldt Casad and Evangeline Smith Mandell Exhibit Gallery
Request to name all three existing Bicycle Repair Stations (Corbett, Zuhl Library Convenience Store on Vista del Monte) as the David Shearer Bicycle Repair Station
Naming Opportunity for the upcoming Learning Communities in the Ed and Harold Foreman Engineering Complex, Building #541.
Request to name new art building as Devasthali Hall
New Art Building naming requests:
a. Conservation Lab as the Candis Stern Art Conservation Lab (Building #657, Room 115)
b. Lobby as the Connie and Jerry Hines Lobby (Building #657, Room 100B)
c. Retablo Gallery as the Margie and Bobby Rankin Retablo Gallery (Building #657, Room 110)
d. Collection Study Room as the Sandy Zane & Ned Bennett Collection Study Room
e. Request to name the Faculty/Studio Office as the Jeanne and Richard Rundell Room (Building #657, Room 122A)
f. Request to name the Permanent Collection Gallery The Bunny Conlon Modern and Contemporary Art Gallery (Building #657, Room 105A)
Name the Mass Spectrometer Laboratory as the Judy and Michael Johnson Mass Spectrometry Laboratory
Name the TECH Lab in O’Donnell Hall as the Jack and MaryLou Davis TECH Lab
Name the McFie Circle Desert Landscape Garden as the Duane Dorsey Desert Landscape Garden
Name spaces in the EC III Foreman Complex – Suite 300 – Learning Communities:
a. Request to name Suite 300 as the Eloy Torrez Family Learning Communities in Engineering
b. Request to name room 331 named Richard and Cynthia Leza
c. Request to name the conference room as the Dr. George W. Lucky Conference Room
d. Request to name room 341 as Chris and Linda Long
e. Request to name room 346 as TRAX International LLC
f. Request to name rooms 337 and 339 as Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Academy
g. Request to name room 348 as Halliburton
h. Request to name room 335 as Art and Dianna Hurtado
i. Request to name room 344 as Mechanical Engineering Class of 1968
j. Request to name room 362 as the Randolph Rothschild Dean’s Advisory Council Chair
Name room 229 in Gardiner Hall as the Gale A. Harvey Physics Classroom

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.