Concern Assessment and Response (CARE)

CONTACT INFORMATIONFor the person completing this report.
NameWill Waller
EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
INFORMATION ABOUT THE BOARD
Official Name of the BoardConcern Assessment and Response (CARE)
Effective date of establishment09/2012
Authorized byRegents Policy Manual (RPM)
Board Reports To (if applicable)Dean of Students
Scope of ImpactSystem
Type of BoardStanding
Purpose

The purpose(s) of this Rule, and corresponding procedural guidelines, as they may be
subsequently issued by the Rule administrators, are as follows:
1. To heighten awareness and mutual concern for the welfare of all within the New Mexico State University
(NMSU) system, which includes all campuses and work sites, and to encourage the reporting of observed
behaviors of concern occurring in the classroom, on campus, in NMSU Housing, in the workplace, or at
any other university location or sponsored event.
2. To facilitate communication and coordination among university officials charged with maintaining a safe
and secure environment for university students, employees, and others, specifically with a focus on the
avoidance of critical incidents caused by individual or group misconduct, through early detection and
reporting, risk assessment and responsive action.
3. To formally recognize and authorize the Conduct Assessment/Response, and Education (CARE)
Committee and its subcommittee, the Behavioral Intervention Team, and to clarify their respective roles
and responsibilities relative to the process by which the behavior of concern will be assessed for risk and
determination of appropriate precautionary and/or follow up action.

Authority

The committee has the authority to assess the level of risk of a given situations and develop a plan of action. From the team each member holds responsibility to their given department and division.

MEMBERSHIP
What is the process for selecting a chair?

Co-chairs are individuals holding positions of CARE case manager and Dean of Students.

Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year
NameWill Waller
EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
Co-Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year
Co-chair NameAnn Goodman
Co-chair EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
Additional Membership Details
Members are appointed byBy Position
Position appointment description

Members of CARE are appointed due to the fact that the department will have direct contact with an individual of concern such as Housing and Residential Life, Police, Human Resources.

Are terms staggered?No
Are members subject to reappointment?No
What is the process for filling vacant positions?

Vacancies are filled by the given position being filled through the hiring process used by the specific department.

Member List
Name Title Member Type
Will Waller Associate Dean (Case Manager) Voting Member
Ann Goodman Dean of Students Voting Member
Lisa Warren Associate General Counsel Non-voting Member
Judith Voelz Chief Medical Officer Voting Member
Anne Ricksecker VP Student Services Alamogordo Voting Member
Juanita Garcia VP Student Services Carlsbad Voting Member
Amadeo Ledesma VP Student Services Dona Ana Voting Member
Beth Armstead VP Student Services Grants Voting Member
Louis Hubert Deputy Chief Fire Department Voting Member
Andrew Bowen Deputy Chief Police Department Voting Member
Trudy Luken Director Student Accessibility Services Voting Member
Jeff Ferguson Assistant Dean of Students - Conduct Voting Member
Laura Castille Title IX Coordinator Voting Member
Donna Ottiviano Employee Relations Specialist Voting Member
MEETINGS & ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT
What university office/function provides administrative support to this board?

Office of the Dean of Students

What are the requirements for the number of meetings to be held annually?

Committee meets weekly unless there are no cases of concerning behavior or recognized holiday campus closing

Was the requirement for the number of meetings met?Yes
List of Meeting Dates

Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Major Accomplishments

CARE team assessed 457 individual cases for the 2018-19 academic year
Action plans were developed for anyone assigned a risk level of 3 or higher (Risk levels range 1 - 5; with 1 being the most severe/concerning)
October 2018 - was our peak month for cases with 61


This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.