Commencement Committee

CONTACT INFORMATIONFor the person completing this report.
NameGabrielle Martinez
EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
Official Name of the BoardCommencement Committee
Effective date of establishment01/1990
Authorized byPresident
Board Reports To (if applicable)VP Student Success and Enrollment Management
Scope of ImpactCampus
Type of BoardStanding

Planning logistics and production of the Las Cruces Main Campus Commencement Ceremonies.


Advisory and planning committee to the Vice President of Student Success and Enrollment Management.

What is the process for selecting a chair?

Vice President for Student Success and Enrollment Management select the Chair and Chief of Staff in President's Office.

Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year
NameGabrielle Martinez
EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
Co-Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year
Co-chair NameMarisela Marquez
Co-chair EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
Additional Membership Details
Members are appointed byBy Position
Position appointment description

Areas directly related to Commencement Ceremonies, will appoint a member for representation.

Are terms staggered?No
Are members subject to reappointment?Yes
Please explain the conditions under which members are subject to reappointment.

Members are subject to reappointment if the member leave his/her current position.

What is the process for filling vacant positions?

Hiring into the departmental position.

Member List
Name Title Member Type
Gabrielle Martinez Communications Specialist Voting Member
Marisela Marquez Event Planner Voting Member
Dacia Sedillo University Registrar Voting Member
Rebecca Galves Director, Alumni Relations Voting Member
Ricky Ruiz NMSU Bookstore Voting Member
Jayna Whitehead Manager, NMSU Bookstore Voting Member
Adam Cavotta Cheif of Staff, Board of Regents Voting Member
Jeany Llorente-Ontiveros Marketing Communications Specialist Voting Member
Rocky Puentes Supervisor, Painter Voting Member
Ophelia Watkins Director, Auxiliary Operations Voting Member
Kelly Alzaharna Security Coordinator Voting Member
Kimberly Altamirano Exec Asst,Exec VP Prov Voting Member
Melody Munson-McGee Chief of Staff Voting Member
Michael Smith Events Tech Service Coord Voting Member
Shacoy Parra Event Planner Voting Member
Renay Scott VP Student Success and Enrollment Management Voting Member
Carley Casey Student Assistant Voting Member
Tammy Menges Student Assistant Voting Member
Ashley Araujo Student Assistant Voting Member
Tara Young Graduate Student Council President Voting Member
Linda Ruiz-Cisneros ASNMU President Voting Member
What university office/function provides administrative support to this board?

University Student Records

What are the requirements for the number of meetings to be held annually?

Meetings are held four times a year. No requirements, meetings held on a need basis.

Was the requirement for the number of meetings met?Yes
List of Meeting Dates

November 28, 2018
December 11, 2018
April 30, 2019
May 14, 2019

Major Accomplishments

Planning and execution of the Spring 2019 and Fall 2018 Commencement Ceremonies and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony with implementation of new procedural changes in the Spring 2019 semester.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.