Campus Planning Committee

CONTACT INFORMATIONFor the person completing this report.
NameCarla Anaya
EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
Official Name of the BoardCampus Planning Committee
Effective date of establishment01/1990
Authorized byPresident
Board Reports To (if applicable)Chancellor/President
Scope of ImpactCampus
Type of BoardStanding

The Campus Planning Committee (CPC) is established by the President as an advisory group that represents the NMSU campus community to review proposed projects that impact the visual, physical appearance of the campus.

The CPC is also NMSU’s heritage preservation (historic preservation) committee and reviews all issues related to historic preservation and implementation of the Heritage Preservation Plan.

The CPC also hears appeals to the Uniform Navigation Signage, NMSU Wayfinding and Signage policy (12.60).

For purposes of CPC actions taken under this charge, the term “review” refers to presentation and discussion of items that do not require a vote. The term “approve” is used in relation to actions requiring a vote; these items are subsequently forwarded to the president in the form of a recommendation.

For clarification, this review should be for all NMSU projects within the triangle of I25 / I10 and University Avenue, including ADI and Arrowhead projects and would not apply to ADI projects outside the triangle, although it is requested that the University Architect review any proposed design.

The CPC makes recommendations to the Chancellor/President, and while this formalizes the process a little, final approval is unchanged and still resides with the Chancellor/President.


Established by the Board of Regents and included in Board Policy.

What is the process for selecting a chair?

Chair is permanent and statutory: University Architect (Facilities & Services)

Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year
NameHeather Watenpaugh
EmailEmail hidden; Javascript is required.
Co-Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year
Additional Membership Details
Members are appointed byBy Position
Position appointment description

The voting membership includes one representative from each college and one from the Library one representative designated by each Vice President and one designated by the President one member of the staff (elected by the NMSU Employee Council); one faculty member elected by the Faculty Senate; two student representatives recommended for appointment by the President of ASNMSU to serve a one year term; one member from the Athletic Department; and one member from Special Events.

Ex-officio members of the committee include a representative of the City of Las Cruces (recommended by the Mayor for appointment by the President) and a representative of Dona Ana County (recommended by the County Manager for appointment by the President).

Are terms staggered?Yes
Are members subject to reappointment?Yes
Please explain the conditions under which members are subject to reappointment.

Only the Dean determines that a member should be reappointed.

What is the process for filling vacant positions?

Chair contacts the appointing party in the summer prior to the coming school year (Fall semester).

Member List
Name Title Member Type
Patti Havstad Ag Research Scientist, Sr Voting Member
Jim Murphy Assc Dean Voting Member
Pat Gavin Professor Voting Member
David Mitchell Asst Professor Voting Member
Juanita Hannan Dir, Research & Budgeting Voting Member
Conni DeBlieck Asst Professor Voting Member
Katie Turpis Library, Assoc Dean Voting Member
Mike Luchau CC Mgr, Facilities Voting Member
Emerson Morrow ASNMSU President Voting Member
Tara Young Graduate Student Voting Member
Becky Corran CC Dept Chair Voting Member
Monica Dunivan Prog Coordinator Voting Member
Heather Watenpaugh University Architect Voting Member
D'Anne Stuart Assc VP Admin & Finance Voting Member
Alton Looney Interim AVP Facilities & Services Voting Member
Greg Fant Assc VP & Deputy Provost Voting Member
Darlene Nelson Development Officer, Ld Voting Member
Renay Scott VP Student Success Voting Member
Michelle Gavin Research Integrity Coord Voting Member
Scott Eschenbrenner Spec Asst to Pres Voting Member
Scott Breckner Dir, Special Events Voting Member
James Hall Assc Athl Dir, Sports Admin Voting Member
Jack Kirby Asst Dir, EHS Voting Member
Andrew Burke Sr VP Admin & Finance Non-voting Member
Jose Loera Asst Director Non-voting Member
Robert Herrera Asst Director Non-voting Member
Jon Webster Asst Director Non-voting Member
Glen Haubold AVP Facilities & Services (retired) Non-voting Member
Suzanne Montes Mgr, Space Planning Non-voting Member
Steve Bettner Asst VP, Aux Services Non-voting Member
Stella Harvey Supv, Operations Non-voting Member
Stephen Lopez Police Chief Non-voting Member
Greg Smith Las Cruces City Council Non-voting Member
What university office/function provides administrative support to this board?

Facilities & Services

What are the requirements for the number of meetings to be held annually?

Meetings are normally held on the first Wednesday of each month except summer (June, July, and August). Meetings are only held when there are agenda items to consider. There is a shortened, electronic process for interim decisions on minor matters if needed between regular meetings.

Was the requirement for the number of meetings met?Yes
List of Meeting Dates

September 5, 2018
February 6, 2019 (electronic communication/vote)

Major Accomplishments

Discussion, review and recommendation for approval of the Monumental Signage Master Plan for the Las Cruces campus.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.