NMSU Boards and Committees

NMSU > NMSU Boards and Committees > 2018 Board Reports

Outcomes Assessment Committee for Co-Curriculum, Administration, and Operations

CONTACT INFORMATION

For the person completing this report.

David Smith

davsmith@ad.nmsu.edu

INFORMATION ABOUT THE BOARD

Board Website (if applicable)

http://assessment.nmsu.edu/committees/outcomes-assessment-committee-for-co-curriculum-administration-and-operations-oac-cao/

Official Name of the Board

Outcomes Assessment Committee for Co-Curriculum, Administration, and Operations

Effective date of establishment 08/1994

Authorized by Provost

Board Reports To (if applicable)

Director of Assessment

Scope of Impact

System

Type of Board

Standing

Purpose

The purpose of the OAC-CAO is to actively and intentionally support co-curricular, administrative and operational areas in engaging in continuous assessments that enhance students' life-learning experiences by

1. Promoting alignment of assessment efforts with institutional strategic goals (Building the Vision) and Baccalaureate Experience outcomes

2. Providing support, resources and development opportunities in assessment

3. Engaging the campus community by fostering comprehensive, cooperative assessment practices across the institution

4. Collaborating with departments/units, through assessment efforts, to foster environments that enhance learning experiences for students

5. Continually monitoring progress and effectiveness of assessment practices in the co-curricular, administrative and operational units on campus

Authority

Advisory to the Director of Assessment, the Associate Provost and the Executive Vice President & Provost

MEMBERSHIP

What is the process for selecting a chair?

Chair is selected from current committee members by nomination of committee members with appointment by the Provost, and serves a one-year renewable term.

Chair for 2017-18 Academic Year

Name

Michelle Gavin

Email mgavin@ad.nmsu.edu

Co-Chair for 2017-18 Academic Year

Co-chair Name

Gabrielle Martinez

Co-chair Email gdmart@ad.nmsu.edu

Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year

Name Gabrielle Martinez

Email gdmart@ad.nmsu.edu

Co-Chair for 2018-19 Academic Year

Additional Membership Details

Members are appointed by

As Individuals

Position appointment description

Members are appointed to three-year terms by the Provost at the recommendation of the Senior Vice Presidents.

Is membership representative?

Yes

Please describe how the membership is representative.

The committee consists of a minimum of twelve (12) voting members with at least one representative from the various reporting areas.

What university function/office is responsible for appointments?

Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost

What are the terms of appointment?

Members are appointed to three-year terms starting July 1.

Are terms staggered?

Yes

Are members subject to reappointment?

Yes

Please explain the conditions under which members are subject to reappointment.

By committee recommendation to the provost.

What is the process for filling vacant positions?

Replacement members are appointed to three-year terms by the Provost at the recommendation of the Senior Vice Presidents.

Member List Title Name Member Type Gabrielle Martinez Communications Specialist, Assc Voting Member Michelle Gavin Research Integrity Coordinator Voting Member **Beth Apodaca** Instructional Consultant, Inter Voting Member Ben Glickler Mgr, Systems Administration Voting Member Adam Cavotta Univ. Training Specialist, Sr. Voting Member Danois Montoya Assc Dir, Campus Health & Wellness Voting Member Adrian Bautista **Development Officer** Voting Member Michelle Bernstein Assc Dir, Hsing Ofcr/Res Life Voting Member

5/9/22, 3:53 PM Name	2018 Board Reports NMSU Boards and Committees New Mexico State University Title Member Type	
Suzanne Montes	Mgr, Space Planning	Voting Member
Carlos Lobato	IT Compliance Officer	Voting Member
Katherine Terpis	Assc Dean, Library & Info Sci	Voting Member
Carol MacDonald	Supv, Nurse	Voting Member
Roseanne Bensley	Assc Dir, Career Svcs	Voting Member
Lisa Kirby	Acad Success Suprt Cntr Coord	Voting Member
Michelle Saenz-Adames	Assc Dir, Academic Success	Voting Member
Will Waller	Asst Dean of Stud,Interve Asse	Voting Member
David Smith	Director of Assessment	Non-voting Member
Laura Grant	Program Specialist	Non-voting Member
Judith Bosland	Asst VP, Institutional Analysis	Non-voting Member
Dan Howard	Executive Vice President and Provost	Non-voting Member

MEETINGS & ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT

What university office/function provides administrative support to this board?

Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost

What are the requirements for the number of meetings to be held annually?

Committee meets monthly. There is no required number of meetings annually.

Was the requirement for the number of meetings met?

Yes

List of Meeting Dates

Aug. 17, 2017 Sep. 21, 2017 Oct. 19, 2017 Nov. 16, 2017 Dec. 14, 2017 Jan. 18, 2018 Feb. 15, 2018 Mar. 15, 2018

Major Accomplishments

In the fall, the committee reviewed submitted assessment reports and selected a recipient for its annual Excellence in Assessment Award. This year's recipient was Housing and Residential Life.

The committee was restructured to make its primary focus co-curricular learning assessment. A transition in representation of membership was initiated, with all current members completing the academic year's service and new members brought on. The committee will have a leadership structure with co-chairs moving forward, with one co-chair representing co-curricular units within Student Affairs and Enrollment Management (SAEM) and a second co-chair representing units outside of SAEM.

The committee did substantial work in revising assessment and reporting processes for co-curricular units, with the new process slated to be piloted during the 2018-19 academic year.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the **permalink**. Follow any comments here with the **RSS feed for this post**. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

« Update Master Report

Board Update 2018 »

© 2016 New Mexico State University - Board of Regents