NMSU Boards

Institutional Review Board

Name of person completing this report: Michelle Gavin

E-mail of person completing this report: mgavin@nmsu.edu

Official Name: Institutional Review Board

Board website (if applicable): https://research.nmsu.edu/CAE/IRB.html

Authoring Body or Official: BOR Policy

Board Reports to: Vice President for Research & Dean of the Graduate School

Scope of Impact: System

Type of Board: Standing

Purpose: Required by federal regulations to assure adequate review of

research activities involving human subjects, and to determine

the acceptability of proposed research in terms of institutional

commitments and policy and federal regulations, applicable

law, and standards of professional conduct and practice.

Authority (e.g. advisory to; decision-making; etc): All research activities involving human subjects must be reviewed and approved in advance by the Institutional Review Board to ensure the rights, well-being, and personal privacy of the individuals participating in research projects are protected, while also maintaining a favorable climate for the conduct of scientific inquiry. All research conducted at or by the university, regardless of funding source, shall adhere to the requirements of the Institutional Review Board.

Name and e-mail of Chair or Co-Chairs for FY21: Merranda Romero Marin

mmarin@nmsu.edu

Name and e-mail of Chair or Co-Chairs for FY22: Merranda Romero Marin

mmarin@nmsu.edu

REPORTING PERIOD: FY20/21 (July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021) Membership: Provide name and title of

each member: Benjamin Diven Physician/Medical Director Voting Member

Ivan De La Rosa Associate Professor Voting Member

Claire Forsmann College Professor Voting Member

Michelle Gavin Research Integrity Coordinator Voting Member

Father Chuck Henkle	Priest/Chaplain	Voting Member
Teresa Lee	Prison – Physical Plant Superviso	r Voting Member
Merranda Marin (Chair)	Professor	Voting Member
Denice Mittelstaedt	NMDA Regulatory Lab Coord	Voting Member
Carlos Posadas	Associate Professor	Voting Member
Edward Pines	Professor	Voting Member
Debasmita Roychowdhury	Associate Professor	Voting Member
Mary Alice Scott	Associate Professor	Voting Member
Rajaa Shindi	College Assistant Professor	Voting Member
LaJoy Spears	Extension Specialist	Voting Member
Julie Steinkopf	Associate Professor	Voting Member
Joe Tomaka (Vice Chair)	Professor	Voting Member
Patrick Trainor	Assistant Professor	Voting Member
Jeanette H. Writer	Professor	Voting Member
Piper Coalson	Health - Program Specialist	Voting Member

Was the requirement for the number of meetings met? Yes

Major Accomplishments: see email from mgavin@nmsu.edu with entire text as it was truncating half way through.

if you have any questions, please call me at 575-646-5461.